Ohio Cattlemen’s BEST Program awards novice participants

first_imgShare Facebook Twitter Google + LinkedIn Pinterest The Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) BEST program has teamed up with sponsoring partner, Weaver Livestock, to get new youth involved with the OCA BEST program. A Novice sponsorship, which covers an OCA membership ($75 value) and a BEST nomination fee ($45 per head), has been awarded to 50 deserving Ohio youth for this year’s BEST show season.The sponsorships were available to any 8-21-year-old cattle enthusiast that is participating in their first or second year of the BEST program. More information can be found at www.ohiocattle.org.BEST (Beef Exhibitor Show Total) is a youth program of the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) that recognizes Ohio’s junior beef exhibitors for participation and placings through a series of sanctioned cattle shows that include showmanship competitions. Juniors who participate in these sanctioned shows earn points for their placings. Points are tabulated for cattle, showmanship, registered Bred & Owned animals and first or second year BEST participants in a separate Novice division for market animals, heifers and showmanship. The program promotes consistency for exhibitors at sanctioned shows hosted by county associations or agricultural groups and clubs. These points are tabulated and posted at www.ohiocattle.org. The program concludes with an annual awards banquet held in May where Novice participants are also entered into a novice-only drawing for a showbox, donated by Weaver Leather Livestock.For more information on the BEST program contact the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association at 614-873-6736 or email beef@ohiobeef.org. Be sure to follow OCA on Facebook or visit www.ohiocattle.org for the latest program updates.The winners were as follows:Cheyenne Anders – Howard2. Gabrielle Anders – Howard3. Emily Barkheimer – North Lawrence4. Seamus Bly – Painesville5. Hawk Brehm – Fayette6. Scarlett Brehm – Fayette7. Lance Brinksneader – Arcanum8. Bailey Cherry – New Plymouth9. Brandon Christian – ChardonTrevor Christian – ChardonKendall Davies – Bowling GreenLily Dennis – LancasterBarrett Evans – DoverBrady Evans – DoverRussell Fox – TiffinAva Gibson – CareyTaylor Herman – AtwaterMaggie Hoorman – Columbus GroveCarson Klingel – MarionAric Lust – Mt. VernonCowen McKelvey – FredericksburgHaylee McKelvey – FredericksburgJacob McMillen – SunburyJoseph McMillen – SunburyConnor McNinch – West AlexandriaDylan Mezie – HowardGarrett Miley – SarahsvilleIsaac Miley – SarahsvilleCheyenne Myers – MinervaAlexis Perry – WoodvilleLukas Perry – WoodvilleMason Powell – FultonMorgan Powell – FultonJames Sander – Oak HarborJoshua Sander – Oak HarborDelaney Sark – OrientAnna Scheurman – WarsawMegan Schulte – OttawaReed Schumacher – Columbus GroveRobyn Schumacher – Columbus GroveKelsey Shope – McDermottErica Snook – CaldwellGavin Stump – SycamoreMorgan Truesdale – PowellAddie Van Kirk – AlexandriaNathan Videkovich – AshvilleCaroline Winter – AshvilleColton Worden – NevadaRamey Wyant – Jackson50.       Noah Zigo – Johnstownlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *